My Mediterranean Cruise

I had a WONDERFUL month!

From October 4-19th I was traveling with 9 great friends in the Mediterranean Sea. Our adventure started in Italy where we ported in Venice and sailed to Egypt, Israel, Greece, Croatia and back to Italy. Below is a small sampling of the trip. For more pictures see http://jarviephotography.smugmug.com/Envision-the-World

We landed in Milan, Italy.

The Milan Cathedral or Duomo

My first of many gelatos. I got strawberry in every city and then in Venice I also got a few other flavors. I got 6 of them in 2 days.

Next we went to Verona.

It was a very quaint town which I really liked but we only spent about an hour there.

We ran to see Juliette’s balcony and the six of us touched her right breast (for good luck).

I was amazed by the arena that is still in use from the 3rd century.

Venice.

St. Marks Basillica

And of course a gondola ride in Venice.

We sailed on Vision of the Seas.

Most mornings I walked the track to counter the amazing food I had at dinner.

Me with Renato and Charleen- our fabulous waiters

Egypt

Our tour of Egypt catered to every sense.

We saw the great pyramids and Sphinx of Giza, the Great library and the Fort of Qaitbey in Alexandria

We rode camels in the desert.

We smelled perfume with Sinbad

We ate delicious food at a great garden restaurant

and heard the call to prayer at this mosque.

But my favorite thing about Egypt is what they call Egyptian hospitality. The people were so friendly!

Our tour guide Mohammad

Our Security guy- Mohammad

Our bus driver- Mohammad, just kidding, it was Mosen

The boy on the left is Mustafa he followed me around and finally said hi to me in the Alexandria Library

These cute school girls were in line with us as the Library

and people waved to us from the streets

Next we sailed to Israel, the land of religious historic places

Our first stop was Jerusalem

I was surprised by the green trees

We saw the BYU Jerusalem Center from afar

The Western Wall

The streets of Old Jerusalem

Damascus Gate

The Garden of Gethsemane

The Church of All Nations

The Russian Orthodox Church of St. Mary Magdalene

I got to see the Dome of the Rock

Next we went to the Garden Tomb

A view of Jerusalem at night

The next day we went to the Sea of Galilee and Capernaum

Church of the Primacy of Peter

What I found most interesting about the churches in Israel is that they built churches around a rock that someone touched.

St. Peter’s house, or what remains of it.

It was across the courtyard from a synagogue

The highlight of my day was the boat ride on the Sea of Galilee and learning to dance and sing Israeli folk songs

The garden area at the Mt. of Beatitudes was so beautiful!

Our last stop was the Jordan River

Lots of people go there to get baptized in the same river Jesus was baptized in.

In Greece we spent the day in Athens

We went to the Acropolis and then Plaka for lunch and shopping

A view of Athens from the Acropolis

A view of Mars Hill from the Acropolis

Split, Croatia

A beautiful sea side city

We went on a tour of the Diocletian’s Palace- both under and above

The palace was built in 305 AD.

The bouganvillas we Gorgeous!

Angela and I even did a little photo shoot in front of them

It was a Sunday morning and the people were out on the boardwalk enjoying the sun and each other.

Rinda and I climbed the Bell Tower

and here is the view

We then headed back to Venice.

We went to Murano and Burano.

Murano is famous for glass blowing.

Burano is a colorful city on the water

One of my favorite friends I made on the trip is Emily Graham

It was a fantastic trip, I am so glad I had the opportunity to go.

2 responses

  1. Erika

    AMAZING!!! What beautiful pictures…you could make a coffee table book with all of the fantastic shots you got. What a dream trip!!!!

    November 6, 2010 at 11:13 am

  2. Carrie

    I’m so jealous. So glad that you were able to take that trip!

    November 7, 2010 at 6:31 am

Leave a Reply

